What Is Money Laundering and Why Is It Illegal?

Money laundering

Everyone is aware of the obvious fact that committing crimes is illegal. What can often get people into trouble is not knowing which acts are considered illegal in the first place. This leads to people doing something they thought was okay and then winding up in trouble with the law.

For instance, people are aware that stealing money from someone else is bad. However, many people do not realize that just depositing illegally gained money into a bank account is illegal. While it sounds a little, silly, there is a good reason for this.

The Definition of Money Laundering

The act of depositing illegally gotten money into a bank account, or any other legitimate institution, is called money laundering. This is a reference to how the person depositing the dirty money, because it was obtained from criminal activity, is trying to “clean” it by putting it to use in legitimate institutions such as banks and other businesses.

This crime is made illegal under 2 California laws: Penal Code (PC) 186.10 and Health and Safety Code (HS) 11370.9. The reason for the two different laws is the distinction between how the money was obtained. HS 11370.9 is only concerned with money that was obtained through all drug crimes. PC 186.10 covers money from any other type of crime.

Both of these crimes require specific intent or knowledge of criminal activity. In other words, money laundering can only occur when a person is knowingly trying to “clean” the money by placing it into a financial institution.

Why Is Money Laundering Illegal

After learning what money laundering is, some people are left wondering why the act is even illegal. Why punish someone for depositing illegally obtained money? Shouldn’t the illegal act be punishment enough?

For California, money laundering became illegal to help combat organized crime rings. In these crime rings, the lower-ranking people were the ones who would commit the illegal activity and therefore they were the ones who faced the consequences. Meanwhile, the bosses were able to get away with the money and without any consequences.

Making it illegal to handle criminally obtained money made it possible to go after the bosses of criminal organizations.

Penalties for Money Laundering

Money laundering is a wobbler offense under both PC 186.10 and HS 11370.9, meaning it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony. How exactly it is charged will be dependent on the person’s criminal record and the crime itself.

When either crime is charged as a misdemeanor, the person will face:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.

When PC 186.10 is charged as a felony, a person will face:

  • 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years in county jail.
  • A max fine of either $250,000 or twice the amount of the money that was laundered, whichever is greater.

The maximum fine for this crime can increase if this is not the first time the person was convicted of money laundering. Also, the maximum prison sentence can increase if the total amount of money laundered was greater than $50,000.

When HS 11370.9 is charged as a felony, a person will face:

  • 2, 3, or 4 years in state prison.
  • A max fine of either $250,000 or twice the amount of the money that was laundered, whichever is greater.

It’s an Odd but Important Crime

Money laundering is a bit of an odd crime. For starters, it doesn’t involve laundry in any way. Then there is the fact that people are being punished for putting money into a bank account. However, as strange as this may seem, it does make sense. Making this simple act illegal allows law enforcement agents to go after those in charge of different crime organizations. This way, everyone in the criminal organization can get punished, not just those doing the grunt work.


Stimulus check

Don’t Get Scammed out of Your Stimulus Check

Stimulus check

As the world practically shuts down in response to the spreading COVID-19 Pandemic, many people are now finding themselves stuck at home. For some, this time away from work can be very welcome. For others, however, not making any money is very stressful. Millions of people across the country have either had their jobs shutdown and are receiving no paycheck, or were laid off entirely. This is a pretty big deal for those who were living paycheck to paycheck.

To counteract the lack of income, and to keep the economy from crashing entirely, the US government agreed on a $2 trillion stimulus plan. All of this money would go to places it was needed most, such as the pockets of American citizens trying to pay their bills.

As great as this plan sounds for many Americans, it sounded even better for a shady group of people. Scammers heard news of the stimulus plan being approved and immediately began creating schemes. There has been a very noticeable uptick in scams revolving around the stimulus checks that will soon be going out to people.

What Is the Stimulus Plan?

The approved stimulus plan will be issuing checks of up to $1,200 to eligible Americans across the country. People who are eligible for these checks include:

  • People making less than $75,000 a year.
  • Couples making less than $150,000 a year.
  • Disabled veterans.
  • People who receive social security.

The money will be delivered to individuals based on how they receive their tax returns. If people chose to have their tax returns deposited directly into their bank account, then that is what will happen with their stimulus money. If people selected to have their tax return check mailed to them, then their stimulus check will be mailed to the same address.

For people who do not have to file taxes each year, such as low-income taxpayers, they will need to fill out a simple tax form. More information on that can be found on the official IRS website.

The money is slated to start going out in the next few weeks, but it will likely take several months for everyone to get their money.

Scammers Are Surfacing

Scammers love when people are scared or in a panic. In this state, people are easier to trick since they aren’t paying as much attention to details as they normally are. This is why scammers always try to scare their victims. However, with all of this fear from the pandemic, they don’t have to instill that fear, they can go straight to feeding off of it.

If a person receives any form of communication regarding their stimulus money, they should ignore it. There will be no fees that need to be paid before funds can be issued. There will be no need to give personal information over the phone or through email.

The IRS states that people on social security and those that file their taxes will not have to do anything to get their stimulus checks. The system will figure out who’s getting money and how/where to send it based on previous tax information. Chances are, the IRS, or any other government agency, will not be contacting people about their checks, so there is no reason to respond to any communications about the subject.

If a person suspects that a communication is legit, then they still should not respond through the presented method. Instead, a person should go to the official IRS website and contact someone through the methods presented there. The site can be identified by having .gov at the end of the site address instead of the usual .com.

Don’t Panic

Everyone can understand how money is a bit tight right now for a lot of people. Shutting down entire industries means that millions of people are without work and likely without pay. This is why the government enacted this stimulus package. They want to ensure that people get the money they need to stay in their homes until this pandemic has come to an end.

During this tough and confusing time, it is important for people not to panic. Doing so could cause them to fall victim to any number of scams. The best thing for everyone is to stay calm and to never give personal information to anyone who contacted them first.


How to properly pull over

How to Properly Pull Over

How to properly pull over

When a person is driving, there are a lot of things that they don’t want to happen. One of the big ones is getting pulled over by the police. When this happens, it means that the driver has done something wrong and is probably going to get a ticket. That is something no driver wants.

When a person is pulled over by the police, there are certain things they should and shouldn’t do. If a driver makes a mistake and does the wrong thing, they could actually get into more trouble. In order to help a person avoid getting into any extra trouble for what was probably just a small traffic violation, here is what a person should do when getting pulled over.

What to Do When Pulled Over

When a driver looks in their rearview mirror and sees a law enforcement vehicle flashing its lights at them alongside blaring their siren, they need to pullover. Regardless of what lane a person is driving in, they need to pull over to the right shoulder of the road, or into the nearest parking lot if it is a viable option. This needs to be done quickly, but safely. It is also recommended that a driver activate their hazard signals to indicate to the officer that they are going to pullover.

Once the person has pulled over, they should turn off their car’s engine, roll down their window, and turn on their interior lights if it is night. They should also extinguish their cigarette or get rid of the gum they are chewing just to be polite. As frustrating as it can be to get pulled over, it is important to remember that the officer is just doing his/her job. Being polite and understanding could help a person avoid getting a ticket.

While a person may not have any intention to harm an officer, the officer approaching the vehicle doesn’t know that. In order to avoid putting the officer on edge, a person should refrain from trying to get their license and registration before the officer arrives. Instead, the person should keep their hands on the wheel until the officer gets to the window. Once the officer is there, a person should listen to every order and do as they are told.

Never get out of a vehicle unless instructed to do so by the officer.

If the officer has reason to believe their might be contraband in the car, they can search the vehicle. However, they can only do that with good reason.

When an officer asks if the driver knows why they were pulled over, it is typically because they are trying to get the person to admit their guilt. Once a person does that, they cannot fight the ticket. No matter how a person decides to answer that question, and any others, they should keep everything short and to the point. Again, they should also be very polite, or they could make the situation worse for themselves.

What If the Car Is Unmarked?

Sometimes, officers use unmarked vehicles when they are out on patrol. In a perfect world, this wouldn’t be much of a problem. Unfortunately, the world isn’t perfect. There are bad people out there that try to pretend to be police officers to take advantage of innocent drivers. Due to this fact, a person needs to be cautious when an unmarked vehicle is signaling for them to pullover.

If a person is concerned about the legitimacy of the vehicle, they should not stop right away. Instead, they should signal that they have seen the request by activating their hazards and slowing their speed. However, they should not stop until they can get to a public, well-lit area. Once stopped, keep the doors locked and only open the window a crack.

A good idea in these situations is to call 911 and talk to the dispatcher. Walk them through everything that is going on and where this is taking place. From there, the person can also ask that a marked vehicle be sent to them.

If the person in the unmarked vehicle is behaving in an odd, aggressive, or just generally unprofessional manner, ask to see their badge. If they refuse, the driver should tell them they are calling 911 and then do that, unless they’ve done it already. If the person runs, don’t follow them. Instead try to get their vehicle’s license plate number, and as much information about the car and person as possible. Then give that all of that information to the police.

Real police officers understand this fear and need for caution. They will not penalize someone for not pulling over right away to an unmarked vehicle, or for asking for a marked car to show up.

Stop and Listen to Avoid Trouble

If the person conducts themselves accordingly, they will probably still get a ticket. However, by being polite and courteous, a driver does increase their chances of getting off with a warning. If a person disregards all of this and instead decides to argue with the officer and be generally uncooperative, they increase their chances of getting into much worse trouble. That is something no driver wants. Often times it is best to just take the ticket.


California marijuana laws

What Are the Laws on Marijuana in California?

California marijuana laws

It seems like just yesterday that the usage of marijuana was illegal here in California. However, Californians voted to make marijuana usage legal in the state back in 2016, and the recreational use of marijuana became legal January 1st, 2018. This change allowed a whole lot of people to use marijuana without having to worry about getting into trouble with the law or needing it for medical reasons.

While this legal change has been in effect for 2 years now, there is still the occasional bit of confusion for some people on what is and isn’t legal. For instance, some people don’t know how much marijuana they are allowed to grow, or how much they can have on their person at one time.

The State’s Marijuana Possession Law

California has several different laws that describe what is and isn’t legal in regards to marijuana. For instance, when it comes to possession of marijuana, Health and Safety Code (HS) 11357 states how much a person can carry on them. Under this law, people over the age of 21 are allowed to hold 28.5 grams or less of marijuana. That’s just a little more than an ounce. Under this law, a person is also allowed to carry up to 8 grams of concentrated cannabis.

A person breaks this law when they:

  • Are under 21.
  • Possess more than 28.5 grams
  • Possess marijuana on the grounds of a K-12.

The penalties for breaking this law vary depending on how exactly it was broken. The charges for this crime can range from an infraction to a misdemeanor. They can have fines anywhere from $100 to $500, up to 6 months in jail, and require drug counseling.

Laws about Growing Marijuana

HS 11358 dictates who can grow marijuana and how much of it they can grow. Anyone over the age of 21 can grow up to 6 plants of marijuana. It typically has to be grown indoors, unless the city has a local ordinance that permits outdoor growth. Wherever marijuana is grown, it has to be in a secure location inaccessible to minors.

If a minor grows any marijuana, they are guilty of an infraction and will face:

  • $100 fine.
  • A drug counseling course.

If an adult grows more than 6 plants, they will be guilty of a misdemeanor and face:

  • Up to 6 months in jail.
  • A max fine of $500.

In some instances a person can face felony charges for goring more than 6 plants if they:

  • Have been convicted of serious violent felonies.
  • Are a registered sex offender.
  • Have 2 or more convictions of growing 6 or more plants.
  • Violated certain environmental laws while growing their plants.

Marijuana Selling Laws

HS 11359 outlines who is allowed to sell marijuana. Only people who have acquired a license to sell marijuana from the state are allowed to sell the drug. Anyone else who is caught selling marijuana without a license will usually face a misdemeanor that comes with:

  • Up to 6 months in jail.
  • A max fine of $500.

However, in some instances, a person can face felony charges if:

  • They have been convicted of certain serious violent felonies.
  • They have 2 or more previous convictions of marijuana possession with intent to sell.
  • They tried to sell marijuana to a minor under the age of 18.
  • As a felony, a person can face time in county jail ranging from 16 months to 3 years.

Marijuana and Driving Laws

Driving while in possession of marijuana is made illegal under Vehicle Code (VC) 23222. This is the same law that prohibits people from driving while possessing an open container of alcohol. Basically, this law makes it illegal for anyone to drive a vehicle while in possession of opened marijuana containers.

Driving under the influence of marijuana is just as illegal as driving under the influence of alcohol. This is why the crime is referred to as driving under the influence (DUI), not driving while intoxicated (DWI). DUI is more inclusive of driving under the influence of any drugs or alcohol. If a person drives while high, they will face the same consequences they would if they were driving drunk.

These Laws Differ from Federal Laws

While marijuana usage is legal here in California, it is still illegal at the federal level. This means that even if a person is following the state laws for possessing and selling of marijuana, they could still be arrested and punished at the federal level. Despite that fact, for the most part, federal law enforcement isn’t that interested in the individual use of marijuana.

Still, there are instances where federal law enforcement will care about individual marijuana use. This will primarily occur when a person is on federal property such as:

  • Federal buildings.
  • Federal courthouses.
  • National parks.
  • Post offices.
  • Public airports.

If a person is caught possessing marijuana, they face the following under federal law:

  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • Up to 1 year in federal prison.

Growing, possessing with intent to sell, and sale of less than 50 pounds or 50 plants, is punishable with:

  • A max fine of $250,000.
  • Up to 5 years in federal prison.

Staying Out of Trouble Isn’t Too Hard

This is just a sample of some of the more common laws surrounding marijuana usage and cultivation here in California. Even though the laws went into effect 2 years ago, they are still new enough to cause some confusion.

As long as a person follows the above laws, they shouldn’t run into too much trouble with the law, at the state level anyways. When it comes to dealing with federal law, a person is better off leaving the marijuana at home. If they don’t do that, they could face some very harsh consequences.

What do you think of California’s many marijuana laws? Do they do a good job at keeping people safe, or are they too complicated? What about the federal laws regarding marijuana? Is it fair for people to get into trouble at the federal level even though they are following state laws? Let us know what you think in the comments down below.


lynwood bail bonds car seat laws

What Are California’s Car Seat Laws?

lynwood bail bonds car seat laws

The goal of every good parent is to keep their child safe. Unfortunately, this task is a lot easier said than done thanks to all of the different ways a child can get hurt. At times, it can feel a bit overwhelming for a parent, but they never give up. Their child is counting on them after all.

One area where kids need extra protection is when they are riding in a car. People often forget how dangerous driving can be, until there is an accident. In order to help keep kids safe, parents are required to put their kids into car seats while driving them anywhere. Failing to do so could lead to their child being severely hurt, and to the parent facing legal troubles.

The Rules on Car Seats

This can come as a shock to some people, but seat belts can actually cause more harm than good to little ones in a car. This is due to the fact that built-in seat belts on cars are designed to keep adults, not children, safe in the event of an accident. This is why car seats are so important, they are designed for children and babies.

The problem is, figuring out when to move a child up to the next level of seating can be a bit confusing. This matter is only made more stressful due to the fact that the state of California has a law requiring children to be properly restrained while riding in vehicles. This means that getting the car seat wrong could result in the parent paying a fine.

Vehicle Code (VC) 27360 is California’s child restraint law. This law dictates what kind of car seat a child needs at what stage in their life.

For starters, all children under the age of 2 must ride in a rear-facing car seat. The only exception to this is if the child weighs over 40 pounds or is taller than 40 inches. Basically, once a child reaches any one of those limits, they can move on to a forward-facing car seat.

Experts recommend keeping kids in rear-facing car seats for as long as possible due to their safety, but parents should always be aware of the car seats weight and height limits, which typically top out at 40 pounds and 40 inches. This is why kids are allowed to be moved up to forward-facing car seats when they reach those sizes, even if they aren’t over the age of 2 yet.

In California, children have to be in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old, or are 4’9”. Again, experts recommend keeping a child in a car seat or booster seat until they max out the weight and height restrictions of the seat.

To simplify things, a parent just needs to follow the weight and height guidelines for the car seats. Keep a child in a rear-facing car seat until they are too big for it, then move them to a forward-facing seat until they eventually outgrow that. From there, move them to a booster seat until they outgrow that, and then they should be big enough to wear a regular seat belt.

The Penalties for Not Using a Car Seat

Aside from the obvious fact that children will be more likely to be severely injured in the event of an accident when they are not properly restrained, a parent could face a nice little ticket for not buckling up their child properly.

When a driver fails to properly restrain their child in a vehicle, they will face the following:

  • A $100 fine for a first offence.
  • A $250 fine for any subsequent offense.
  • 1 point on their driving record.

It is important to remember that the prices listed above are only the base prices. Thanks to all of the additional fines, fees, and assessments that California has tacked on, the ticket will really cost a lot more than those prices.

While the singular point on the driving record doesn’t sound all that bad, a person needs to remember that if a driver accumulates too many points within a certain amount of years, they can be labeled a negligent driver and have their license suspended or even revoked altogether.

Buckle Up Your Kids

Car seats and the California laws surrounding them may seem complicated and confusing, but they are actually pretty straight forward. As long as a parent follows the guidelines for height and weight limits on their child’s seat, they won’t have to worry. Their child will be safe in the car and they will be safe from getting a ticket for not properly restraining a child in a vehicle.

What do you think about the state’s child seat laws? Are they a good idea to help keep kids safe, or do they over complicate things? What about the penalties for failing to use a car seat, are they fair or too much? Let us know what you think in the comments down below.


lynwood bail bonds smash and grab crimes

Why Are People Smashing Car Windows?

lynwood bail bonds smash and grab crimes

Most law abiding citizens see a locked door or window and assume the building or car is inaccessible. However, there are people out there who view those barriers as minor obstacles. If they want inside, they will get inside. Nothing is going to stop them, not even a pane of glass.

When a criminal sees something they want, particularly something that is valuable, not much can stop them from trying to get the item. This is especially true when all that stands between them and their prize is a single pane of glass. With the right tool, they could have that window shattered in seconds, have their prize, and be out of there before anyone can catch on to what has happened. This can prove to be very problematic, especially for car owners.

Smash and Grab Crimes Moving Further South

For a while now, the city of San Francisco, and other parts of Northern California, have had to deal a rise in smash and grab crimes, particularly with their vehicles. If a driver made the unfortunate decision to leave something in their car while they shopped or went inside somewhere, a thief would come along, see the item in question, break the car window, and take off with the stolen goods.

Sometimes, there may not have been anything of value in the car, other than a bag of unknown stuff. The thief saw that and decided to take a chance on the bag, hoping there could be something of value hidden inside. Often times, the crooks may even be working in groups. One team breaks into the vehicles and then hands off the stolen goods to a getaway team.

There are entire gangs out there that have made this sort of crime their business.

It is easy to see how this could be very frustrating and upsetting for a person. Not only did someone steal something from them, but the thief broke the vehicle’s window as well.

As San Francisco and the rest of Northern California seemed to get ahold of the situation and even see a slight drop in the crimes, Los Angeles and Southern California are seeing a sudden increase in these types of crimes. The Bay Area saw a 3% drop in these types of crimes while Los Angeles saw a 30% increase.

Experts believe this is due to an oversaturation of the crimes up north. The belief is that some of the gangs that have been committing these crimes are moving south to the ‘new market’ in Los Angeles and the surrounding areas.

Consequences of Smash and Grab in California

Smash and grab crimes are essentially breaking and entering crimes. Here in California, the act of breaking and entering falls under burglary, which is made illegal under California Penal Code (PC) 459. This is due to the fact that state law does not require forced entry for a crime to be considered burglary.

The law states:

“Every person who enters any house, room, apartment, tenement, shop, warehouse, store, mill, barn, stable, outhouse or other building, tent, vessel… car… vehicle… with intent to commit grand or petit larceny or any felony is guilty of burglary.”

This means that anyone caught breaking into a car to steal something from within the car is guilty of burglary. Burglary in California is broken into two sections, first- and second-degree burglary. First-degree burglary occurs when a person breaks into any residence, basically any place where a person might live. Second-degree burglary is a burglary of anything else, including cars.

Second-degree burglary is a wobbler offense in California, meaning it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony. How it is charged depends on how the prosecution wants to proceed. As a misdemeanor, it comes with:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • Misdemeanor probation.

As a felony, the crime comes with:

  • 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years in county jail.
  • A max fine of $10,000.
  • Felony probation.

Keep Your Stuff Safe

Regardless of where a person lives in California, no one wants to have their stuff stolen. They definitely don’t want one of their car windows being shattered. In an effort to avoid that kind of thing happening to them, a person needs to be aware of what they are leaving behind in their vehicles. A person should never leave behind valuables, and should avoid leaving behind bags of stuff as well. Even if there is nothing of value in the bag, the thieves won’t know that.

If something has to be left in a car, then it should be left hidden. This way, there is no incentive for a criminal to break into the vehicle.

What do you think has caused this rise in smash and grab crimes here in California? What about how California view burglaries and the consequences for those crimes? Do the consequences match the crime, or do they need to be reevaluated? Let us know what you think in the comments down below.


lynwood bail bonds report suspicious activity

When Should You Report Suspicious Activity?

lynwood bail bonds report suspicious activity

The goal of law enforcement officers is to ensure that people follow the law and to keep people safe. Unfortunately, they can’t do anything unless they see the act or someone informs them of it. This is why law enforcement agencies always ask people to report any suspicious or criminal activity. Doing so allows them to enforce the law and help out people in need.

This is exactly what happened in Palm Beach, Florida when one person heard screams for help coming from a neighbor’s house. Officers quickly responded to the call, prepared to rescue someone in danger. However, it is safe to assume they had no idea what they were in for when the call came in.

Who Needed Help?

On December 29th, 2019 someone was minding her business at home when she began to hear screams from a woman. The woman was asking for help and to be let out. Upon hearing the screams, the neighbor did the right thing and called the police. She told them what she heard and officers rushed to the scene as quick as they could.

When officers arrived at the house where the screams were reported to be coming from, they found the homeowner in his driveway working on a car. The officers approached the man and when they informed him of why they were there, he laughed and offered to get the screamer. The homeowner went into his backyard and returned a few moments later holding a green parrot. This earned a laugh from many of the officers at the scene.

As it turns out, the homeowner has a 40-year-old parrot named Rambo. While he had been working on his wife’s brakes, he put Rambo into an outdoor cage in the backyard where the parrot liked to talk, sing, and scream. When the man was a kid, he taught the parrot to say: “Help, let me out,” when the parrot still lived in a cage.

After seeing that there was no criminal activity, the officers left the scene. The man later introduced his neighbor, the one who called the police, to Rambo. They both had a good laugh over the incident.

See Something, Say Something

The Department of Homeland Security has a program called See Something, Say Something. The program is meant to encourage people to report criminal and suspicious activity that they witness to their local law enforcement. They encourage people to use the 5W’s when making a report to the local authorities. The 5W’s are:

  • Who did you see?
  • What did you see?
  • When did you see it?
  • Where did it occur?
  • Why is it suspicious?

If a person is able to provide this information to the police or local sheriffs with this information, law enforcement should be able to deal with the situation.

Always Report Suspicious Activity

Even though the 5W’s refer to seeing something, this does apply to hearing things as well. This is exactly what the neighbor did in Palm Beach, Florida. She thought she heard someone in trouble and did the right thing by reporting it. In this instance, luckily, no one was actually in trouble. Even though no one was actually in trouble this time, it is better to be safe than sorry.

It is never a crime to report something that a person truly thinks is suspicious or a crime. So, if a person ever sees or hears something that they think is suspicious, they should always report it to their local authorities.


lynwood bail bonds should you warm up your car

Should You Warm Up Your Car and Let it Idle for a While Before Driving?

lynwood bail bonds should you warm up your car

When the weather grows colder, people begin to do everything that they can to avoid being cold for any length of time. They spend more time indoors, bundle up in extra layers before venturing outside, and even warm up their cars before getting into them.

Many people view leaving a car idling as a great way to keep themselves warm during the coldest part of the year. Unfortunately, this practice can have several adverse consequences. Leaving a car idling to warm up can actually be bad for the vehicle, is a great way to get it stolen, and can even be illegal here in California.

Cold Idling Can Be Damaging

In the thick of winter, the common wisdom is that when you are gearing up to take your car out in the cold weather, you should start up your engine, and let it idle to warm up. It sounds like a great idea, but can actually be damaging to modern cars.

The concept of warming up the engine before driving originally came around with cars that had carburetors. On these older cars, the carburetors created a mixture of gasoline and air to dump into the engine. This method works fine at certain temperatures, but when things get cold, the mixture ratio needs to be modified to remain efficient.

Unlike modern cars with fuel injection, these older cars couldn’t automatically compensate for colder temperatures. This lead to people needing to let their cars warm up to normal operating temps before being able to drive anywhere. Nowadays, cars can adjust the mixture on their own to run efficiently.

The fastest way to get a car warmed up is to just drive it. When a car is idling in the cold, some of the gas in the engine can begin to coat the interior pieces and remove the oil that is supposed to be there to help it run smoothly. This means the parts rub together, cause friction and begin to wear down a little bit faster, making it very important to get the engine warmed up, and the fastest way to do that is to drive it.

Cold Idling Can Be Dangerous

Aside from being damaging to a car, leaving a car idling can also be dangerous. Typically, the only thing keeping thieves from stealing a car is the fact that they need a key to get in and get it moving. If a person leaves their car idling in their driveway, what is to stop someone from walking up to the car, hoping in, and driving off with it? Even if the car is locked while idling, all a person has to do is break a window and then drive off. That is why a car should not be left idling in a driveway or on the street.

Some people may try to get around this by having the car idle in the garage, which is dangerous for a different reason. Cars burn gasoline to create their power, which creates carbon dioxide (CO2) gas as a byproduct. This gas is toxic to humans, and if left running in a closed off room like a garage, the gas will fill the garage and begin seeping into the house, which can lead to death. This is part of the reason why houses are supposed to have CO2 sensors in them.

Idling Can Be Illegal

Lastly, leaving cars idling to warm up can be illegal in certain circumstances. This is typically done in an effort to reduce carbon emissions across the state. California has enacted laws that make it illegal for commercial diesel vehicles to be left idling for more than five minutes. Violations of this law can result in fines, some of which are very hefty.

While the state laws primarily apply to commercial diesel vehicles, some counties and cities have their own anti-idling laws. These laws are typically enacted either to protect people from having their car stolen, or to protect the environment. Basically, before anyone leaves their car idling to warm up, they should make sure that it isn’t illegal where they live.

It’s Best Not to Idle

Dealing with the cold can always be a bit bitter and unpleasant, which is why people often prefer to let their car warm up before driving off in it. However, doing this can be a bad idea for several reasons. It is unnecessary and damaging to modern cars with fuel injection motors. It can be dangerous as it opens a person up to having their car stolen, or filling their house with CO2. Lastly, it can be illegal in certain areas and under certain circumstances.

What do you think of letting a car idle to warm up? Do you still think it is a good idea or not? What about California’s anti-idling laws? Let us know what you think in the comments down below.


lynwood bail bonds store driving with an animal on your lap

Is It Legal to Drive With an Animal on Your Lap?

lynwood bail bonds store driving with an animal on your lap

Pretty much every pet owner out there has a furry companion that they would do everything they can for. Some pet owners love their critters so much that they take them everywhere they go. This seems like a harmless and fun way for a person to spend time with their beloved companion, however it can be dangerous and even illegal in some states.

Laws from Across the Country

Across the nation, different states have different rules about how pets can be transported in cars. This can make driving through different states with a furry companion that much harder. Any driver looking to take their pet somewhere, especially on road trips, needs to be aware of these laws. If they aren’t, they could inadvertently end up in trouble with the law.

Some states, such as Hawaii and Arizona, have specific laws that make it illegal to drive with a pet in the person’s lap or in the driver’s immediate vicinity. Other states such as Maine and Connecticut can use their state’s distracted driving laws against drivers with pets on their lap.

The state of New Jersey takes things a step further. In this state, officers can stop any driver who improperly transports an animal, such as driving with the animal in their lap, and charge the person with animal cruelty. A person found guilty of this can face fines ranging from $250 to $1,000 dollars and can even face up to 6 months of jail time.

California Law

Here in California, the laws surrounding the transportation of animals are surprisingly lax. The state only has one law regarding the transportation of animals in vehicles, and it applies to pick-up trucks.

Vehicle Code (VC) 23117 states that no driver should transport an animal in the back of a vehicle in a space intended for any load unless the space is enclosed or has side and tail racks that are at least 46 inches high, has installed means of preventing the animal from getting out, or the animal is in a cage.

Basically, this means an animal can’t be carried in the bed of a truck unless the sides of the truck are higher than 46 inches, the animal is tied to the bed of the truck, or the animal is in a cage of some sort. This means that as long as an animal is in an enclosed space, such as the interior of the car, they are being transported safely and correctly.

This law does not apply to the transportation of livestock or the transportation of a ranch dog for ranching/farming purposes.

The consequences of breaking this law for the first time come with a fine ranging from $50 to $100. A second or any subsequent offense within a year will earn a person a fine ranging from $75 to $200.

Why These Laws Exist

The important fact to remember is that these laws exist for safety reasons. Transporting the animal safely keeps not only the critter safe, but the driver as well. A pet owner wants to make sure that in the event of an accident, their companion stays safe. This means keeping it safe and secure in the vehicle.

On top of the pet’s safety, there is the driver’s safety to consider as well. Everyone knows how dangerous distracted driving can be. What people may not realize is just how many things can be considered distracted driving besides using cellphones. Having to deal with a pet, especially one that is on the driver’s lap, can be very distracting. If the driver becomes too engrossed in whatever their pet is doing in their car, they could cause an accident.

What do you think of all of these different takes on laws surrounding the transportation of animals? Which state has your favorite law and which one takes things too far? Does California need to update its own animal transportation and distracted driving laws? Let us know what you think in the comments down below.


lynwood bail bonds driving laws

Speeding Is a Big Deal

lynwood bail bonds driving laws

There are so many different laws here in California that it is practically impossible for a single person to remember every law within the state. However, there are some laws that everyone knows about and yet choose to ignore. There are a few select laws out there that people break all of the time, some even daily, because they don’t view it as a big deal.

A perfect example of this are speed limits. There are many drivers out there, especially here in California that view speed limits as suggestions. Some people view the limits as the slowest possible speed they will go. For the others, anyone going the speed limit is driving too slow. Still, speeding is illegal and incredibly dangerous, and should be avoided.

California Speeding Law

Here in California, speeding is made illegal under Vehicle Code (VC) 22350. This law makes it illegal for a person to drive faster than is considered safe for the circumstances. The exact wording is:

“No person shall drive a vehicle on the highway at a speed greater than is reasonable or prudent having due regard for weather, visibility, the traffic on, and the surface and width of, the highway, and in no event at a speed which endangers the safety of person or property.”

In basic terms, this means that a person cannot drive at speeds on a road that a normal person would view as fast or dangerous. This is especially true on smaller or more crowded roads. This also includes when the weather makes the road dangerous through rain, snow, wind, and fog.

A driver is expected to exercise the proper caution and restraint needed in different situations. Just because a road has a certain speed limit does not mean a driver has to do that speed limit all the time. Sometimes the weather may require slowing down.

Consequences of Speeding in California

There are three different consequences a person can face when they are caught speeding by law enforcement:

  • They can receive a fine and have their license suspended.
  • Receive points on their driver’s record.
  • Be held negligent for any accidents that occur due to the speeding.

When it comes to fines and license suspension, the exact amounts depend on how fast the person was going. If the speeds were under 100 miles per hour (MPH), then the person will face the following:

  • $35 for 1 to 15 MPH over the limit.
  • $70 for 16 to 25 MPH over the limit.
  • $100 for 26 MPH over the limit.

If the speeds where over 100 MPH, then the person will face the following for a first time offense:

  • A base fine of $500.
  • 30 day license suspension.

A second offense of driving over 100 MPH in 3 years comes with:

  • A base fine of $750.
  • 6 month license suspension.

A third offense of driving over 100 MPH in 5 years comes with:

  • A base fine of $1,000.
  • 1 year license suspension.

On top of the fines, a person will also receive a point on their driver’s license. Acquiring too many points within a time period can lead to a person having their license suspended. If a driver gets:

  • 4 points in 12 months
  • 6 points in 24 months
  • 8 points in 36 months
  • Then they will be designated a negligent driver and have their driving license suspended.

    Lastly, since driving at excessive speeds makes it more likely for a person to cause an accident, drivers who are caught speeding will be held responsible for any accidents that they caused. This means they will also have to face the consequences of any accidents that result from the speeding.

    Don’t Speed While Driving

    Many drivers fail to realize just how dangerous and problematic speeding can be. Speeding does increase the chances of a driver causing an accident. This is especially true in inclement weather, which is why the state law mentions that drivers need to adjust their speed to match their conditions. If a driver wants to avoid any trouble and fines, then they need to follow posted speed limits and adjust those speeds to match conditions. By doing so, a driver reduces the chances of causing an accident and getting a ticket.

    What do you think of speeding and the state’s laws on it? Are the consequences for speeding fair or too extreme? Let us know in the comments down below.