lynwood bail bonds car seat laws

What Are California’s Car Seat Laws?

lynwood bail bonds car seat laws

The goal of every good parent is to keep their child safe. Unfortunately, this task is a lot easier said than done thanks to all of the different ways a child can get hurt. At times, it can feel a bit overwhelming for a parent, but they never give up. Their child is counting on them after all.

One area where kids need extra protection is when they are riding in a car. People often forget how dangerous driving can be, until there is an accident. In order to help keep kids safe, parents are required to put their kids into car seats while driving them anywhere. Failing to do so could lead to their child being severely hurt, and to the parent facing legal troubles.

The Rules on Car Seats

This can come as a shock to some people, but seat belts can actually cause more harm than good to little ones in a car. This is due to the fact that built-in seat belts on cars are designed to keep adults, not children, safe in the event of an accident. This is why car seats are so important, they are designed for children and babies.

The problem is, figuring out when to move a child up to the next level of seating can be a bit confusing. This matter is only made more stressful due to the fact that the state of California has a law requiring children to be properly restrained while riding in vehicles. This means that getting the car seat wrong could result in the parent paying a fine.

Vehicle Code (VC) 27360 is California’s child restraint law. This law dictates what kind of car seat a child needs at what stage in their life.

For starters, all children under the age of 2 must ride in a rear-facing car seat. The only exception to this is if the child weighs over 40 pounds or is taller than 40 inches. Basically, once a child reaches any one of those limits, they can move on to a forward-facing car seat.

Experts recommend keeping kids in rear-facing car seats for as long as possible due to their safety, but parents should always be aware of the car seats weight and height limits, which typically top out at 40 pounds and 40 inches. This is why kids are allowed to be moved up to forward-facing car seats when they reach those sizes, even if they aren’t over the age of 2 yet.

In California, children have to be in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old, or are 4’9”. Again, experts recommend keeping a child in a car seat or booster seat until they max out the weight and height restrictions of the seat.

To simplify things, a parent just needs to follow the weight and height guidelines for the car seats. Keep a child in a rear-facing car seat until they are too big for it, then move them to a forward-facing seat until they eventually outgrow that. From there, move them to a booster seat until they outgrow that, and then they should be big enough to wear a regular seat belt.

The Penalties for Not Using a Car Seat

Aside from the obvious fact that children will be more likely to be severely injured in the event of an accident when they are not properly restrained, a parent could face a nice little ticket for not buckling up their child properly.

When a driver fails to properly restrain their child in a vehicle, they will face the following:

  • A $100 fine for a first offence.
  • A $250 fine for any subsequent offense.
  • 1 point on their driving record.

It is important to remember that the prices listed above are only the base prices. Thanks to all of the additional fines, fees, and assessments that California has tacked on, the ticket will really cost a lot more than those prices.

While the singular point on the driving record doesn’t sound all that bad, a person needs to remember that if a driver accumulates too many points within a certain amount of years, they can be labeled a negligent driver and have their license suspended or even revoked altogether.

Buckle Up Your Kids

Car seats and the California laws surrounding them may seem complicated and confusing, but they are actually pretty straight forward. As long as a parent follows the guidelines for height and weight limits on their child’s seat, they won’t have to worry. Their child will be safe in the car and they will be safe from getting a ticket for not properly restraining a child in a vehicle.

What do you think about the state’s child seat laws? Are they a good idea to help keep kids safe, or do they over complicate things? What about the penalties for failing to use a car seat, are they fair or too much? Let us know what you think in the comments down below.


lynwood bail bonds door to door scams

Tips for Dealing with Door to Door Scams

lynwood bail bonds door to door scams

For most people, the safest and most relaxing place to be is within the walls of their own home. There, they are isolated from the rest of the world in safety. They can rest easy and recharge before having to venture outside once again. When someone intrudes on the space it can be a bit upsetting. This is especially true if the intruder is up to no good.

In today’s modern world, a lot of scammers have taken to the internet to trick and con people. Most people are aware of this fact. However, some scammers out there prefer to stick to more old fashioned methods. Door to door scams do still occur and it is important for people to be aware of this fact.

Since there are so many different scams out there, it is important for a person to learn to spot the warning signs of something being a scam. This way, no matter what type of scam they might be dealing with, they will be able to recognize the con for what it is and avoid it.

Preferred Targets for Scams

When it comes to door to door scams, there is one age group that falls victim to it more than all the others. People over the age of 60 are more likely to be targeted by, and fall victim to, these types of scams. This is due to the fact that Baby Boomers were raised to be more trusting of people and polite towards everyone. They are also the main age group that is home during the day. These are traits that scammers love to exploit in order to get their foot in the door.

When a scammer comes to the door, someone in this age group is more likely to answer the door to an unexpected guest. Meanwhile, people in later generations are more likely to ignore the knock at the door if they weren’t expecting anyone. Similarly, Baby Boomers are less likely to close the door on someone once they begin talking to them. Other generations have no problems closing the door in someone’s face.

Common Scams and Warning Signs

There are primarily two types of door to door scams that a person needs to be wary of:

  • Someone ‘selling’ a product or service.
  • Someone distracting the person so an accomplice can break into the house.

When it comes to selling a product or service, many scammers will dress up to play the part. They will put on uniforms and claim to be from a specific, often trusted, company. Some may even display fake badges. The goal of these types of scams is to convince the victim to pay money, or provide credit card information, for a product or service that will never be issued or delivered.

With the other type of scam, the person knocking at the door is just the distraction. He or she just wants to hold the victim’s attention, maybe even get them out of the house and into the yard, as someone breaks into the house and steals anything of value.

Just because someone looks the part or displays a badge does not mean they are legitimate. This is especially true when they knock unexpectedly on a door. Most legit companies do not send workers door to door to drum up business because they have more important things to do. When it comes to payment, no legit company will demand payment upfront, in cash. Being aggressive toward clients is a sure fire way to get bad reviews.

Tips for Avoiding Scams

The following are some tips to help identify and avoid door to door scams:

  • Always ask to see identification.
  • Always keep doors locked, even when home.
  • Ask the person to leave their information and come back next week, giving enough time to research them.
  • Be wary of people asking for payment upfront.
  • Call the company of unexpected service workers to determine if they are legit.
  • Don’t respond to unsolicited offers of service.
  • Don’t step outside with unsolicited workers when home alone.
  • Never admit to living or being alone.
  • Never invite unexpected service workers inside.
  • Never pay in cash for door to door services.
  • Report suspicious activity to local law enforcement.
  • Tell neighbors about the suspicious activity to help keep them alert too.

Don’t Get Scammed at Your Door

No one likes getting scammed, especially if the scammer comes to their front door. Home is where a person is supposed to be safe, and getting conned at the front door can make a person feel very unsafe.

While there may be dozens upon dozens of different door to door scams out there, they all have a tendency to follow the same patterns. This makes them easily identifiable, which in turn makes it easier for regular people to avoid getting conned on their own doorstep.

Have you ever encountered a scammer on your doorstep before? Do you have extra tips for dealing with door to door scams that didn’t make this list? If so, share them in the comments down below and help others stay safe while at home.


lynwood bail bonds driving laws

Speeding Is a Big Deal

lynwood bail bonds driving laws

There are so many different laws here in California that it is practically impossible for a single person to remember every law within the state. However, there are some laws that everyone knows about and yet choose to ignore. There are a few select laws out there that people break all of the time, some even daily, because they don’t view it as a big deal.

A perfect example of this are speed limits. There are many drivers out there, especially here in California that view speed limits as suggestions. Some people view the limits as the slowest possible speed they will go. For the others, anyone going the speed limit is driving too slow. Still, speeding is illegal and incredibly dangerous, and should be avoided.

California Speeding Law

Here in California, speeding is made illegal under Vehicle Code (VC) 22350. This law makes it illegal for a person to drive faster than is considered safe for the circumstances. The exact wording is:

“No person shall drive a vehicle on the highway at a speed greater than is reasonable or prudent having due regard for weather, visibility, the traffic on, and the surface and width of, the highway, and in no event at a speed which endangers the safety of person or property.”

In basic terms, this means that a person cannot drive at speeds on a road that a normal person would view as fast or dangerous. This is especially true on smaller or more crowded roads. This also includes when the weather makes the road dangerous through rain, snow, wind, and fog.

A driver is expected to exercise the proper caution and restraint needed in different situations. Just because a road has a certain speed limit does not mean a driver has to do that speed limit all the time. Sometimes the weather may require slowing down.

Consequences of Speeding in California

There are three different consequences a person can face when they are caught speeding by law enforcement:

  • They can receive a fine and have their license suspended.
  • Receive points on their driver’s record.
  • Be held negligent for any accidents that occur due to the speeding.

When it comes to fines and license suspension, the exact amounts depend on how fast the person was going. If the speeds were under 100 miles per hour (MPH), then the person will face the following:

  • $35 for 1 to 15 MPH over the limit.
  • $70 for 16 to 25 MPH over the limit.
  • $100 for 26 MPH over the limit.

If the speeds where over 100 MPH, then the person will face the following for a first time offense:

  • A base fine of $500.
  • 30 day license suspension.

A second offense of driving over 100 MPH in 3 years comes with:

  • A base fine of $750.
  • 6 month license suspension.

A third offense of driving over 100 MPH in 5 years comes with:

  • A base fine of $1,000.
  • 1 year license suspension.

On top of the fines, a person will also receive a point on their driver’s license. Acquiring too many points within a time period can lead to a person having their license suspended. If a driver gets:

  • 4 points in 12 months
  • 6 points in 24 months
  • 8 points in 36 months
  • Then they will be designated a negligent driver and have their driving license suspended.

    Lastly, since driving at excessive speeds makes it more likely for a person to cause an accident, drivers who are caught speeding will be held responsible for any accidents that they caused. This means they will also have to face the consequences of any accidents that result from the speeding.

    Don’t Speed While Driving

    Many drivers fail to realize just how dangerous and problematic speeding can be. Speeding does increase the chances of a driver causing an accident. This is especially true in inclement weather, which is why the state law mentions that drivers need to adjust their speed to match their conditions. If a driver wants to avoid any trouble and fines, then they need to follow posted speed limits and adjust those speeds to match conditions. By doing so, a driver reduces the chances of causing an accident and getting a ticket.

    What do you think of speeding and the state’s laws on it? Are the consequences for speeding fair or too extreme? Let us know in the comments down below.


Los Angeles crime rates are down

How to Keep Your Car Safe While Parked on the Street

Los Angeles crime rates are down

Parking is a very important aspect of a driver’s life. Whenever a person drives somewhere, they need to find a safe place to put their car while they are away from it. After all, no one wants anything to happen to their car while they are gone. This is especially true when a person is at home and may not need their car again for several hours.

If someone lives in a suburban or rural setting, then finding a good, safe spot to park the car is no big deal. However, in urban settings, many apartments do not have individual garages. This makes it so that a lot of people have to park along the street.

Parking on the side of a street isn’t always the safest place for a car. There are plenty of things that can go wrong, from the car getting hit by another vehicle, to someone breaking into the vehicle and stealing it. Luckily, there are tips out there to help a person avoid some of these less than desirable events.

Tips to Keep Your Car Safe While Parked on a Street

There are several things a driver can do to ensure the safety of their vehicle while it is left parked on the side of the road. Some of them are pretty obvious, but easily forgotten, while others require more thought.

For starters, finding the right spot is very important.

  • A driver should park close to their destination and avoid rarely parked in or empty areas. This reduces the likelihood of the vehicle or the owner becoming a target.
  • A driver should trust their instincts. If a parking lot or section of street doesn’t feel safe, then don’t park there and find somewhere else. Better to be safe than sorry.
  • Try to park near street lights. The light will provide plenty of visibility during the night and reduce the chances of someone messing with the vehicle or its owner.

The next set of tips involve how a car is left at its spot.

  • Activate the car alarm. Some cars don’t automatically have their alarms activated. Some need to have the lock button on the key hit twice to activate.
  • Always lock the car. Locking a car can become so second nature that people don’t notice if they do it or not.
  • Close all of the vehicles windows completely. Leaving windows open, even just a crack, makes it easier for crooks to get inside.
  • Don’t leave valuables in a car. If crooks see expensive items in the car, they won’t have much of a problem with breaking a window to access those valuables.
  • Use a steering wheel lock. While there are some crooks who know how to get past these locks, it is a deterrent. Why steal a car with a locked steering wheel when there is another car without a lock?
  • Use the emergency brake. Sometime crooks will try to roll cars away to a more secluded spot to mess with them. Using the emergency brake makes it so they cannot do that.

Laws That Could be Broken

Aside from simply trying to keep a car safe from being targeted by crooks, a driver also has to make sure that they don’t get into trouble with the law. There are all sorts of parking laws throughout the state, with many of them changing from city to city.

Some of the big ones for a driver to be aware of are:

  • Leaving a car parked for too long in a specified area.
  • Parking in a no parking zone.
  • Parking in front of a bus stop.
  • Parking on a bridge unless a sign states that it is allowed.
  • Parking on a sidewalk.
  • Parking too close to fire hydrant.
  • Parking within a crosswalk or intersection.

If a person parks in one of these areas, they could find themselves earning a ticket. This ticket would come with a small fine, dependent on which law exactly the driver broke by parking where they did, and no jail time. The vehicle could also end up getting towed.

In the event of parking too close to a fire hydrant, a driver could also come back to their car to find the windows broken because fire fighters needed access to the hydrant.

Park Safely

Finding a good parking spot can be a difficult task, especially in heavily populated areas. If a driver needs to park their car on a street, then they should follow the tips above. Doing so will help keep their car, and themselves, safe from crooks.

Following the above tips, and keeping local parking laws in mind, can also help prevent a person from getting a parking ticket too. No one wants to pay a fine because of where they parked.

Do you have any tips to help keep cars safe while they are parked on the side of the road? If so, share them in the comments down below and help other drivers out.


lynwood bail bonds dui on new years eve

Don’t Get a DUI on New Year’s Eve

lynwood bail bonds dui on new years eve

As this year draws to a close, pretty much everyone is planning out how they are going to celebrate. Parties will be happening all over the world and deciding which party to go to can be a daunting task. Luckily, the end results are pretty fun, provided a person doesn’t make any bad decisions.

As an adult, most parties that people go to have alcohol at them. This isn’t usually a problem, as long as everyone drinks responsibly. A person should know their limits with alcohol and they should have a safe ride home.

No one should ever drive themselves after consuming alcohol. Being drunk while driving is a great way to cause an accident. On top of that, it is a surefire way to get a ticket and even get arrested. So while enjoying the New Year’s Eve celebrations, people need to be responsible or they will face some harsh consequences.

California DUI Laws

Here in the state of California, just like everywhere else in the country, it is illegal for a person to drive drunk. Under Vehicle Code (VC) 23152a, driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol is illegal. A person is driving under the influence any time they consume enough alcohol that their abilities are impaired enough that they can no longer operate the vehicle with the care and caution of a sober person.

VC 23152b makes it illegal for a person to drive a vehicle if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above 0.08%.

VC 23153 makes it a crime for a person to drive under the influence and hurt someone. Basically, if someone ever commits DUI and seriously injures someone in the process, they will be charged with this crime.

DUI Checkpoints and Holidays

Something else to consider when planning holiday parties are DUI checkpoints. Whenever holidays roll around that tend to involve a lot of drinking, such as New Year’s Eve, law enforcement agencies tend to setup DUI checkpoints in heavily trafficked areas. These checkpoints are setup in the hopes to catch drunk drivers before they are able to cause an accident and hurt/kill someone.

DUI checkpoint locations will always be posted in advanced to give people the ability to avoid them if they choose to. If a person comes across a checkpoint, they will likely have to wait in line until an officer is available to talk to them. The officer will ask a few simple questions and if everything checks out, they will allow the driver to continue on their way.

However, if the officer suspects that the driver has been drinking, then they will ask the car to pull off to the side. From there, another officer will conduct a field sobriety test to confirm whether or not the driver has been drinking. If the driver is confirmed to have been drinking, he or she will be ticketed, and either have to get a ride home or be taken into custody.

Penalties for DUI

There are a lot of specific incidents when it comes to DUI. The consequences of DUI depend on which particular incident occurred. For a first time offense, a person faces misdemeanor charges that come with:

  • Up to 6 months in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • A 4 month driver’s license suspension.
  • Up to 9 months of DUI school.

The consequences for basic DUI increase with each offense.

If a person commits DUI and hurts someone, they will typically face misdemeanor charges that come with:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A Max fine of $5,000.
  • A 1 year driver’s license suspension.
  • Up to 30 months of DUI school.
  • Paying restitutions to the victim.

If a person commits too many DUI’s within a set time period, or they kill someone because of DUI, they will automatically face felony charges. Felony DUI charges come with:

  • 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years in state prison.
  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • A 5 year driver’s license suspension.
  • Up to 30 months of DUI school.
  • These charges may seem light, but if a death was involved, they are often charged with vehicular manslaughter charges, which carry harsher consequences.

    End the Year on a High Note

    As the end of the year draws closer, everyone is planning out how to celebrate it. No matter what a person decides with the celebrations, if a person plans on drinking on New Year’s Eve, they need to do so responsibly. This means knowing their limits and having a plan to get home that doesn’t involve driving themselves.

    In today’s modern world, getting a safe ride home is a piece of cake thanks to apps like Uber and Lyft. Plus, there are always the traditional methods such as hiring a taxi or just designating a friend as a sober driver.

    No matter what you end up doing this New Year’s Eve, be sure to send 2019 off on a high note, which means not getting a ticket for DUI or causing an accident. From everyone here at Lynwood Bail Bonds, have a safe and Happy New Year!


lynwood bail bonds late bail bond payment

What Happens If You Miss a Bail Bond Payment?

lynwood bail bonds late bail bond payment

A concern that many people have when dealing with bail is being able to make the payments. Here at Lynwood Bail Bonds, we break up the cost of our bonds by providing personalized payment plans for all of our clients. This makes bailing a loved one out of jail a whole lot easier for our clients.

While the payments are designed to fit within each client’s unique budget, it isn’t always perfect. Sometimes life gets in the way and changes things up. What may have started off as an affordably sized monthly payment can suddenly become unbearable. This can happen for any number of reasons and can cause additional stress for clients.

Luckily, here at Lynwood Bail Bonds we understand how things can change from month to month. Sometimes something like an emergency happens that makes someone spend more money than they were planning to. This, in turn, can make paying a payment more difficult for a month or two.

If a client is aware of the fact that they are going to miss a payment beforehand, then they should talk to their bail agent. We are more than happy to work with clients when they need help. If a payment is missed without warning, contact your bail agent right away. If you don’t do that, your loved one could be taken back into custody.

Here at Lynwood Bail Bonds, we do everything that we can to help out our clients. Some of the other services we provide include:

  • 24/7 Bail bond service
  • 20% Discount
  • Phone approvals
  • 0% Interest payment plans
  • No hidden fees
  • No collateral with working signer
  • Se habla Español

At Lynwood Bail Bonds, we try our very best to make posting bail easier, this includes providing personalized payment plans. However, if there is ever a time that the payment seems too big, talk to one of our bail agents right away. They will be more than happy to help you.

You can talk to a bail agent at any time by calling (323)357-0575 or click Chat With Us now.


lynwood bail bonds dumping laws

Illegal Dumping Laws in California

lynwood bail bonds dumping laws

Everyone wants to live in a place that looks nice. When a person’s home or city looks nice, they take more pride in it. After all, everyone loves it when something of theirs looks nice. Due to that, people also really hate it when someone else messes up something they care about. Everyone wants their stuff to look nice, and this includes the city in which they live.

Nobody wants to look at piles of garbage on the side of the road, or anywhere else in their city, which is why the act of leaving that garbage there is illegal in California. Anyone caught dumping their trash where they shouldn’t will face legal consequences.

Penal Code 374.3

Here in California, Penal Code (PC) 374.3 is the law that makes the act of dumping waste products illegal in the state. Under this law, if someone dumps waste in one of the following areas, they are guilty of illegal dumping:

  • On a public or private road.
  • On publicly accessible private property.
  • Private property without the owner’s consent.
  • Public parks.

Basically, this law makes it a crime to dump stuff anywhere but on a person’s own property or in an official dump.

On top of laying out the areas where a person cannot dump trash, PC 374.3 also defines what counts as waste products that can’t be dumped. The law doesn’t only focus on obvious bits of trash, the actual wording makes it a crime to dump waste. It goes on to describe what counts as waste:

  • Asphalt.
  • Cigarettes and cigars.
  • Concrete.
  • Construction materials.
  • Containers.
  • Dead animals.
  • Dirt.
  • Flaming or glowing materials.
  • Papers.
  • Rocks.
  • Trash.

Penalties of PC 374.3

The breaking of PC 374.3 is an infraction level offense. This means that the consequences do not include any jail time. A person guilty of illegal dumping will face a small fine. The amount of the fine is dependent on how many times the person has been charged with illegal dumping here in California and their criminal record.

  • For a first time offense, a person will face a fine ranging from $250 to $1,000.
  • For a second time offense, a person will face a fine ranging from $500 to $1,500.
  • For a third or any subsequent offense, a person will face a fine ranging from $750 to $3,000.

What’s more, a person can face additional charges for each day the waste remained where it was dumped. This means that the penalties for this offense can increase drastically.

On top of that, fines can be doubled if even a single used tire was included in the dumped waste. The court can also make it so that the convicted individual has to pay for the removal of the waste.

Commercial Illegal Dumping

PC 374.3 also makes it a crime to illegally dump commercial quantities of waste. This same rules apply as above, except the quantities of the dumped material could only be generated by trade, business, profession, or occupation. If a person, or company, is guilty of commercial illegal dumping, they will face misdemeanor charges that come with up to 6 months in jail and a fine based on how many times the person has been convicted of commercial dumping.

  • For a first time offense, a person will face a fine between $1,000 and $3,000.
  • For a second time offense, a person will face a fine between $3,000 and $6,000.
  • For third and any subsequent offenses, a person faces a fine between $6,000 and $10,000.

Keeping the City and the State Clean

When a person has any waste that they want to get rid of, they need to take it to an official dump. If they just try to dump it somewhere else to avoid paying a fee, they will end up in trouble with the law. From there, they will end up paying fines that make the dumping fees much more agreeable.

If a person sees dumping activity, they should report it to their local authorities. Even though dumping is a crime across the state, it is handled at the county level. Different counties handle the crime differently, with some caring more than others. Still report the incident so that there is a record of it.

Everyone wants the city they live in to look nice and to not be covered in dirt and trash. This is why the state has outlawed the act of dumping waste wherever a person wants. What do you think of the state’s dumping laws? Are the penalties equal to the crime? Let us know what you think in the comments down below.


lynwood bail bonds winter weather driving tips

Winter Weather Driving Tips

lynwood bail bonds winter weather driving tips

Winter weather has arrived in California and that makes for some treacherous driving. This becomes even more problematic when combined with the fact that so many people will be traveling for the holidays. Due to this fact, it is very important for all drivers to be prepared to handle inclement weather while on the road this winter.

There are two different types of bad weather that can really affect road conditions, rain and snow. When it starts to rain, the roads get wet and slick, making things difficult. However, rain is much more manageable than snow. When it starts to snow, or temperatures drop below freezing, the wet roads become frozen, making driving very dangerous, especially without the proper precautions.

Tips for Driving in the Rain

When driving in hazardous conditions, such as rainy weather, a person needs to pay more attention to the road. Often times, drivers tend to drive subconsciously and follow the road out of habit. By doing this, a person is less likely to be able to react in time to any surprises. Due to the rain, there can be a lot of surprises.

Some other tips for rainy weather driving include:

  • Turn on headlights. Anytime when things start to get dark and dim, a driver should turn on their headlights, even if they can see okay without them, since the lights make them more visible to other vehicles.
  • Slow down. Due to water on the road, cars will have less traction and will be more likely to lose control. This is called hydroplaning. If a car begins to hydroplane, the driver should not slam on the brakes. Instead, they should take their foot off of the gas, letting the car decelerate naturally and focus on steering the vehicle safely. As the car slows down, it will stop hydroplaning and regain traction.
  • Do not use cruise control in slick conditions. If the car begins to hydroplane, the cruise control will actually try to speed up the car making the problem worse.
  • Be careful when changing lanes. Thanks to the slick roads, cars will need more time to slow down and stop. As such, a driver needs to give themselves more space between cars when changing lanes in order to avoid causing any accidents.

Tips for Driving in the Snow

Most experts recommend that a person avoid driving in the snow whenever possible, as the road conditions get very dangerous, especially for drivers who have never dealt with frozen roads before.

When a person is driving in the snow, they should keep extra supplies in their vehicle. Some of these supplies should be extra warm clothes, a blanket, food, and water. This is just in case something goes wrong and the person ends up stranded somewhere, like on the side of a road.

Some other frozen road driving tips include:

  • Drive slowly. Driving at high speeds in slick conditions is a surefire way to get into an accident.
  • Accelerate and decelerate slower. Due to the slick surfaces, getting a car to speed up or slow down takes more time and a driver should plan for that.
  • Don’t tailgate. Since it takes longer to come to a stop in slick conditions, a driver should increase the distance between them and the car in front of them.
  • Don’t stop on hills. Trying to get going up a hill from a dead stop in slick conditions is extra difficult.
  • Have chains or snow tires ready to go. The best way to drive in snow is to be prepared, and sometimes that means having the proper equipment.

Fix-It Tickets

During all of the bad weather and darkness that comes with winter, a vehicle’s lights get a whole lot of use. It is important for a driver to make sure that all of their lights on their car are working properly. This includes:

  • Headlights.
  • Taillights.
  • Brake lights.
  • Turn signals.
  • Rear license plate light.

Failing to make sure these lights are functioning properly is a great way for a driver to get a fix-it ticket. These kinds of tickets give the driver a choice, they can either pay the fine, or pay to get their vehicle fixed. Most people prefer to just get their vehicle fixed. Once they have done that, they need to get a certified person to sign off on the ticket to prove that the problem was fixed.

A driver can avoid the headache of a fix-it ticket by checking all of the exterior lights on their car before driving anywhere this winter.

Stay Safe Out There

Experts recommend that people avoid driving in rainy and snowy weather whenever possible because it is more dangerous. However, that isn’t always possible for people. So, if a person does need to drive in inclement weather this winter, they need to do so carefully.

By following the tips above, a person should be better prepared for the bad driving conditions that winter may throw their way. Do you have any winter weather driving tips that didn’t make the list? If so, share them in the comments below and help everyone stay safe on the road this year.


lynwood bail bonds winter pet tips

Winter Pet Tips

lynwood bail bonds winter pet tips

As the end of the year draws near, the weather gets colder and colder. Some parts of California have already reached temperatures that make most people choose to stay indoors. As the temperatures drop, it is important for everyone to stay warm for their own health and safety.

While everyone hurries to bundle up for the cold weather, they also need to consider their pets as well. While most pets have fur coats to help keep them warm, they aren’t impervious to the cold. Just like the cold will eventually worm its way through a jacket, it will do the same to fur. Plus, there is the fact that not all animals are built to tolerate all kinds of weather. Due to this, it is important for pet owners to consider their furry companions this winter.

Keeping Pets Warm This Winter

  • There are all sorts of things that pet owners need to consider when winter rolls around each year. Here are some things to think about when the temperatures start to drop:
  • Adjust meals to account for changes in activity. If a dog spends more time indoors and is less active in winter, then they don’t need as much food. However, if they go out a lot and are more active, then they need more food. Plus, staying warm in the cold consumes energy, so that alone means needing more food.
  • Bring pets inside. While they may have fur, a lot of pets are just as susceptible of getting frostbite and hypothermia as people are. Think of their fur as permanent jackets. Animal can resist the cold for a little bit like people can, but eventually they need to come inside too.
  • Check under the hood of your car before starting it. Outdoor cats are always looking for warm places to hide, and a warm engine can be a nice place to curl up for a nap. Unfortunately, if someone comes by and starts the car up again while the cat is still there, disaster can occur.
  • Increase time between baths. Just like people, pets can suffer from dry skin, which can be dried out from baths. Since putting moisturizer on with all of that fur is a bit difficult, it is best to simply reduce the number of baths pets get in winter to help prevent the skin from drying out in the first place.
  • Keep dogs on leashes near bodies of water. Letting a dog off their leash near water is how the dog can end up running across the ice and falling in.
  • Keep walks shorter. Reducing the lengths of walks can reduce the exposure to the cold and help prevent any cold related health risks.
  • Provide jackets for pets. Some animals simply don’t have the fur to deal with cold or snow. Think of Chihuahuas and their short fur.
  • Provide proper shelter. The best place for pets to be in winter is indoors with their owner. However, if that is not possible, make sure outdoor pets have adequate shelter from the cold. The floor of the shelter should be raised above the ground, the door should face away from the wind, and a heavy burlap or plastic sheet should cover the door. The inside should be large enough for the animal to lay down comfortably, but small enough to conserve heat, and have a layer of sawdust or straw to lay on.
  • Take care of your dog’s paws. Wipe their paws after walks near roads that have been salted. The salt can get on the pup’s paws and make him/her sick after licking it off. Try putting booties on dogs’ paws to both keep them warm and clean.

Consequences of Animal Abuse

California Penal Code (PC) 597 makes it illegal for a person to kill, harm, neglect, or overwork an animal. This includes failing to protect an animal from severe weather. Leaving a pet out in the cold is a type of animal abuse, since the owner is neglecting the health and safety of the critter. As such, if a person doesn’t take the time to care for their pet, they can face legal consequences.

If a person is charged with PC 597, they can face either misdemeanor or felony charges depending on the facts of the crime and the person’s criminal record. As a misdemeanor, a person faces:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $20,000.

When charged as a felony, a person faces:

  • 16 months, 2 year, or 3 years in state prison.
  • A max fine of $20,000.

Some additional consequences for being charged with animal abuse, regardless of misdemeanor or felony, can include:

  • Having the animal removed from the person’s care.
  • Paying for the animal’s housing costs during the trial period.
  • Mandatory counseling.
  • An additional year in prison if the abuse involved a deadly or dangerous weapon.

Be Considerate of Animals This Winter

For some people, the cold weather can be fun, in short doses. The same is often true for animals. The cold doesn’t mean that animals need to be inside 24/7 until spring, but they should definitely spend more time indoors rather than outside.

Something else to consider, is this saying “If you’re cold, they’re cold. Bring them inside.” While this is true for most animals, there are a few breeds out there that are better built for cold and snow. One dog breed that springs to mind is huskies. They often prefer colder weather, and with their stubborn attitudes, they may resist their owner when it comes time to go back inside. Basically, before reporting anyone for animal abuse, make sure the parent isn’t out there trying to coax the stubborn animal back inside.

What do you think of California’s take on animal abuse? Are the consequences too steep, or are they well deserved? Do you have any additional winter safety tips for pet owners that aren’t on this list? If so, share them in the comments down below and help other pet owners keep their critters safe this winter.


lynwood bail bonds can minors have alcohol in california

Can Minors Have Alcohol in California?

lynwood bail bonds can minors have alcohol in california

There are certain laws that everyone knows about, such as don’t drive over the speed limit, don’t steal things from other people, and anyone under 21 is not allowed to drink alcohol. However, while these laws are well known, a lot of people tend to ignore them, which is never a good idea.

Ignoring a law is a good way to get into trouble. One slip up could cause a person to be arrested or forced to pay a fine. This is especially true when it comes to laws surrounding minors and alcohol. Breaking a law is bad enough as an adult, abut as a minor it can lead to problems down the line.

Minors and Alcohol Laws in California

Here in the state of California, it is illegal for minors to consume alcohol under Business and Professions Code (BPC) 25658. Under this law, it is illegal to do the following:

  • Sell alcohol to a minor, anyone under the age of 21.
  • Buying alcohol as a minor is illegal.
  • It is a misdemeanor to give alcohol to a minor who then gets into a car accident for driving while drunk.
  • It is a misdemeanor to allow a minor to consume alcohol on business property regardless if the person knew the minor was under 21 or not.

BPC 25658 is just one of several state laws that restrict the usage of alcohol amongst minors. For instance, BPC 25662 makes it illegal for a minor to even be in possession of alcohol.

Under these two laws, a minor can never posses or consume alcohol, not even if their parent or legal guardian allows them to have the alcohol. While that particular instance may be okay in some states, it is illegal here in California. Minors can never have alcohol. This is further confirmed by DUI laws related to minors.

When it comes to driving while intoxicated, adults have to worry about having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%. Minors get into trouble if they have a BAC over 0.01%.

Penalties of Breaking These Laws

In most instances of minors with alcohol, both the minor and the adult that provided them with the alcohol will face consequences. The exact consequences that a person will face are dependent on which law was broken. In most instances, the person will face misdemeanor charges.

When a minor is caught with alcohol in their possession, under BPC 25662, they face misdemeanor charges. This includes:

  • A $250 fine for first time offenses. A $500 fine for subsequent offenses.
  • 24 -32 hours of community service, either at an alcohol/drug treatment center or a county coroner’s office.
  • Participation in a youth drunk driver program.
  • 1 year driver’s license suspension or a 1 year delay in acquiring a driver’s license.

Breaking BPC 25658, whether as a minor consuming alcohol or as an adult providing alcohol to a minor, is a misdemeanor offense. Someone accused of this crime faces:

  • Up to 6 months in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.

If a minor is caught driving while under the influence of alcohol with a BAC of 0.01%, they will face a 1 year suspension of their driver’s license under Vehicle Code (VC) 23136. This is the state’s zero tolerance law for underage drinking and driving.

If a minor is caught driving with a BAC of 0.05% or greater, they will face consequences under VC 23140. This is the states underage DUI law. It comes with the following, infraction level consequences:

  • No jail time.
  • 1 year driver’s license suspension.
  • 3 months of mandatory alcohol education program.

If a minor has a BAC of 0.08% or higher, than they can be charged with regular DUI, which carries harsher consequences.

Don’t Give Minors Alcohol

Alcohol can be enjoyable, when consumed responsibly. Minors under the age of 21 are often not mature enough to handle alcohol. This can lead to them over consuming, and then putting themselves into dangerous or life-threatening situations, which is why they are prohibited from drinking. This is also why it is such a big deal for adults to give alcohol to minors.

With the holiday season starting up, there will be a lot more parties and a lot more alcohol around. If anyone has family visiting from other states where minors are allowed to consume alcohol when their parent or legal guardian permits it, inform them that California sees things differently.

What do you think of California’s take on minors and alcohol? Is the state taking the right precautions or does it need to loosen up a bit? Let us know what you think in the comments down below.