Unemployment fraud

The Reality of Unemployment Fraud

Unemployment fraud

Unemployment fraud isn’t new. There have been instances of it dating all the way back to when the system for helping people stay financially solvent after they suddenly lost a job was first created.

The high number of people who were forced to claim unemployment benefits when the pandemic struck the United States, combined with some unexpected unemployment bonuses the government instituted in an attempt to keep the economy running has triggered an interest in unemployment fraud.

Loree Levy, a spokesperson for the California Employment Development Department, recently confirmed that the state is on the lookout for people who are committing unemployment fraud.

Levy’s department released a press release the addressed the issue. “These perpetrators are often using stolen identity information from national and global data breaches, as well as exploiting expedited payment efforts in the federal PUA program,” the release stated.

In California, you can be charged with unemployment fraud if it’s believed that you knowingly supplied inaccurate information to obtain unemployment benefits you aren’t entitled to. Even if you’re application isn’t approved, you can be charged with unemployment fraud.

Examples of unemployment fraud include:

  • Providing false identification information on the application
  • Failing to report earned income while collecting unemployment
  • Failing to report additional forms of compensation you’re collecting while also collecting unemployment
  • Not being a legal California resident
  • Falsifying employment information
  • Stealing another person’s unemployment check

Individuals aren’t the only ones who can be accused of unemployment fraud. Employers can also end up in hot water. If an investigation reveals that employer-supplied false information to the state to make it difficult for an employee to collect the unemployment benefits they deserve, the employer will be charged with unemployment fraud.

Unemployment fraud in California is a wobbler offense. Whether someone is charged with a misdemeanor or a felony depends on the amount of money they collected from the scam. If the amount is less than $950 misdemeanor charges are filed. The penalty can include a $1,000 fine and spend up to six months in county jail.

If the amount is greater than $950 and the prosecutor decides to stick to with a misdemeanor, it’s a potential $10,000 fine and year in a county jail.

In felony unemployment fraud cases the amount must exceed $950. Being found guilty could result in up to a 5-year jail sentence and a $50,000 fine. In addition to the fines, the state demands that the money was stolen from the system be returned and adds a 30% interest rate to the total.

The best way to avoid an unemployment fraud charge is to be completely honest on your unemployment application.


benefits of virtual learning

Advantages and Disadvantages of Online School

benefits of virtual learning

The idea of online school isn’t new. Online schooling has been around for some time and many parents have taken advantage of it. Other parents have thought about it from time to time and briefly considered looking into it but never got around to it.

The pandemic has pushed the concept of online schooling to the forefront of everyone’s mind. Some schools have even opted entirely do away with in-classroom learning and devote all of their resources to virtual education.

How Online Schooling Differs from Home Schooling

It’s important to understand that online schooling and homeschooling aren’t exactly the same thing.

Homeschooling is a type of schooling where the parents have total control over their child’s education. In some cases, the parent works with a group of like-minded parents, an organization that has created a curriculum, or even tutors. In other instances, the parent does all the teaching themselves.

Students who partake with online schooling are still connected to the school’s curriculum. Teachers who are employed by the school handle the student’s educational needs.

Advantages of Online Schooling

Prior to the outbreak, the biggest advantages connected to online schooling was that students who didn’t do well in a traditional classroom setting still enjoyed a high level of education. The set up was ideal for students who were in living situations that required them to learn from different locations, such as a parent’s house one day, a grandparent’s house in a different county, or during a commute. Online schooling was also good for the children who didn’t have a reliable means of getting to school every single day.

Parents often like online schooling because it is designed in such a way that parents are able to be involved in their child’s education without having to worry about doing the actual teaching.

Students who do best when they’re able to work at their own pace generally excel when they’re removed from the traditional classroom and enrolled in an online schooling program.

Disadvantages of Online Schooling

The simple reality is that while online schooling is wonderful for some students, other students struggle with it.

The disadvantages of online schooling include:

  • It limits the child’s ability to socialize with people their own age
  • Students who lack self-discipline struggle
  • Students don’t connect as well with the teacher which makes them reluctant to ask for additional help

One of the biggest disadvantages connected to online learning is that it eliminates a sense of competition that many students require before they’ll push their limits and strive to excel.

If your child is taking advantage of online schooling this year, it’s important that you make an effort to connect to the school and go over the rules for logging in each day, know when homework needs to be completed, and have a plan to make sure that you can take the steps needed to help your child thrive in an at-home learning environment.


earthquake safety kit

California Earthquake Survival Tips

earthquake safety kit

California is known for its earthquakes. Unlike wildfires which can be somewhat predictable and avoidable, there’s never much warning before an earthquake occurs. Even with the surprisingly accurate MyShake earthquake phone app you usually have less than a minute to prepare yourself for the tremor.

Early preparation and common sense is your best line of defense when it comes to surviving a California earthquake.

Keep Your Home in Good Repair

Routinely go through your home and any outbuildings and make sure that they are earthquake ready. The house met the current earthquake building guidelines when it was constructed, but it’s up to you to make sure that it stays earthquake ready. The best way to make sure your home remains standing during an earthquake is by staying on top of all home repairs.

Secure Your Space

At least once a week, go through your entire house and make sure it’s earthquake-proof. Make sure there is enough room in closets for you to fit into the small space during an earthquake. Double-check that you haven’t placed anything on a high shelf where it could fall off and hit you during an earthquake.

Create a Disaster Plan

Creating a disaster plan for an earthquake isn’t easy. You have no way of knowing where you or the rest of your family will be when an earthquake takes place. What you can do is arrange a place where everyone will meet following a large earthquake. You can also make sure that your entire family has a communication plan in place that will allow you to connect with one another after the earthquake.

Have Emergency Supplies on Hand

Create small emergency packs and store them throughout your home. The packs should contain non-perishable food, first aid supplies, a flashlight, batteries, and water. You should keep at least one of these packs in each of your rooms as well as in your car.

Purchase Earthquake Protection

Make sure you’re insured against an earthquake. This insurance means you’ll get reimbursed if your home is destroyed during the earthquake, making it possible for you to start over.

Lend a Helping Hand

Once you’ve successively survived a California earthquake, it’s time to help others. Check on your neighbors and make sure they’re okay. Offer to shelter to those who need it. Volunteer with earthquake survival groups. The sooner everyone pitches in to help, the sooner the state will recover from the earthquake.


working during a lockdown

Can You Force Your Employees to Work During a Government Ordered Lockdown

working during a lockdown

Covid-19 has created some big legal questions that no one really considered prior to the pandemic hitting the United States in March. One of the questions both employers and employees are asking is if employees can be required to work during the government ordered lockdown.

The answer isn’t as straight forward as most people might assume it is.

Working From Home

If it turns out that a business’s employees have the ability to work from home, they can be told that they have to work during the government lockdown. One of the surprising things about the pandemic is how many businesses who thought they needed to have their employees come in every single day are finding that it isn’t necessary at all. Some have even reported that having employees working from home has increased productivity and they’re exploring if they should simply continue the work at home option even after the pandemic ends.

If You’re an At Risk Employee

The simple reality is that some people are at a much higher risk of both contracting COVID-19 and being hospitalized with their conditions. The good news is that the Americans Disabilities Act does provide some protection for these employees. As long as they have a recognized and registered health problem that puts them at risk for COVID-19, the employee has the right to request that their employer explore other options. This can include placing them in a different area where they’re better able to social distance from other employees, moving them to a new position, or granting a leave of absence.

If you don’t have a condition that’s recognized by the ADA, your employer may have the right to insist you continue to work.

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act was created to make it a little easier for employees to tell their employers that they wouldn’t be working during the lockdown. The law is designed to provide employees with some leverage against employers who want them to work during the lockdown. The law is specific to COVID-19 and provides additional assistance with things like food assistance, healthcare assistance, and even help getting unemployment if the employee decides that their being unfairly forced to work.

It’s important to note that the Families First Coronavirus Response Act is a temporary measure and will end on December 31, 2020.


home security cameras

What to do When the Police Ask for Camera Footage

home security cameras

Over the past 10 or 15 years, cameras have become a major part of our daily lives. They’re on our phones, in our homes, built into doorbells, and even mounted on the dashboards of our cars. We usually don’t give them a second thought until the police request the footage. That’s when we suddenly start to wonder exactly what our rights are.

Can the Police Request Camera Footage Without a Warrant?

If you’re wondering if the police can ask to see the footage one of your cameras has captured even when they don’t have a warrant, the answer is yes. Where things get murkier is when you’re trying to figure out if you have to grant their request.

Do You Have to Hand Your Cameras to the Police?

If the police suspect that the camera on your phone, dashboard, or home security system contains information that pertains to a crime they’re investigating, they are allowed to take it, even if you don’t willingly hand it over. They are required to provide you with a receipt. What the police aren’t allowed to do is simply flip through the phone or watch any of the videos without permission. There are two ways they can obtain this permission. The first is if you tell them that you don’t mind. The second is by getting a warrant to inspect the camera.

The problem with camera footage is that if the police find incriminating evidence, they can use it against you.

RING Doorbells and the Police

If you have a RING doorbell, you should know that it’s possible the police may already have access to the footage the camera has captured. The brand is actively marketed to the police and some police stations have even been given the doorbells which they hand out to citizens. Amazon, who owns the company that manufactures RING doorbell does this because they are trying to cut down on delivery package thefts. It’s a good idea unless the police suspect you of a crime. Footage that is less than 60 days old and has been uploaded to a network cloud can easily fall into the police’s hands, even without your permission or a warrant.

Tony Botti, who is a Public Information Officer with the Fresno County Sheriff’s office spoke about this issue. “If we ask within 60 days of the recording and as long as it’s been uploaded to the cloud, then Ring can take it out of the cloud and send it to us legally so that we can use it as part of our investigation,” Tony said. “The consumer knows what they’re getting into. If you’re a good upstanding person who is doing things lawfully, nobody has concerns.”

When it comes to camera footage and the police, it’s in your best interest to delete any potentially damaging photos or videos that you’ve already recorded and to turn your camera off if you’re worried that it can ever be used against you during a criminal investigation.


bail bonds

Pepper Spray: California’s Laws and Ownership Regulations

bail bonds

If you consider pepper spray the perfect self-defense tool, you’re not alone. The world is full of people who feel safer when they have a small container of pepper spray in their pockets. The spray is affordable, easy to find, and legal. Or is it?

Who Can and Can’t Use Pepper Spray in California?

Most people don’t realize that California prohibits several people from using pepper spray. The people who aren’t allowed to purchase or use pepper spray includes:

  • Anyone who has been convicted of either a felony or any type of assault case
  • Anyone who has a known drug abuse problem
  • Minors

Sixteen-year-olds are the one exception to the “minors can’t use pepper spray” rule. A sixteen is allowed to both purchase and carry pepper spray but only when they’re in the presence of a legal guardian.

California’s Rules Regarding the Use of Pepper Spray

California lawmakers didn’t want a bunch of people walking around who were randomly spraying people with pepper spray. To keep things under control they took their time and carefully drew up a law that restricted how and when you can use pepper spray.

You’re not allowed to spray pepper spray directly into every person who made a pass at you. The only time you’re allowed to legally use the pepper spray is when you feel a need to defend yourself. You’re not even allowed to pull it out and hold it up in a silent warning to an attacker that they need to back off. If you get it out, you must prove that you needed to save yourself.

It is illegal to use your pepper spray canister as a projectile.

The pepper spray canister can not contain more than 2.5 ounces of the spray.

The Consequences of Breaking California’s Pepper Spray Law

If you’re unlucky enough to get caught breaking California’s pepper spray law, you could be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony. If found guilty, possible sentences include:

  • A $1,000 fine
  • Incarceration for 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years

California won’t allow you to claim that the canister was empty or jammed as an excuse for breaking the pepper spray laws.

If you’re legally allowed to carry pepper spray in California, go ahead and do so, just be very careful that you keep the canister tucked into your purse or pocket. Only bring it out if you are genuinely convinced you need to defend yourself.


bail bonds

Strange Laws from California

bail bonds

When people think about laws, they often think about sensible rules that make sense. However, it is important to remember that laws are made by people, and this means that some real nonsense can be made into actual laws that govern the people. This is true of every country, state, and city. California is no exception.

The Golden State is home to its own bits of weirdness thanks to some odd laws. Many of these laws were created long ago, and as such, show their age. Others are a little more recent, and while it may be possible to see what the lawmaker was going for, the wording of the law isn’t quite right.

Why Are These Even Laws?

California became a state on September 9, 1850. Over the last 170 year period, a lot of laws have been enacted and removed across the state’s 160,000 square miles. Some of the laws have made sense, such as don’t steal from people and don’t kill each other. Others are a bit stranger. Some of the weirder laws that are still technically active in California include:

  • A person can only wear cowboy boots in Blythe if they own two or more cows.
  • A person cannot wash someone else’s car without the owner’s permission in Los Angeles.
  • Cursing on a golf course in Long Beach is illegal.
  • Detonating a nuclear device in Chico will result in a $500 fine.
  • Flying a kite higher than 10 feet is illegal in the city of Walnut.
  • Garages in San Francisco are meant for storing personal vehicles and nothing else.
  • In California, it is illegal for women to drive cars while wearing housecoats.
  • In San Francisco, ugly people are not allowed to walk down the street.
  • It is illegal to drive in reverse in Glendale.
  • It is illegal to pour salt on Hermosa Beach streets.
  • Men and boys are not allowed to dress as women in Walnut unless it is for a play, or they receive a permit from the sheriff.
  • Peacocks always have the right of way in Arcadia.
  • San Diego homeowners can be fined $250 for having their Christmas lights up after February 2nd.
  • Vehicles without drivers cannot drive over 60 mph.
  • Visitors of Fresno city parks are prohibited from bothering lizards.
  • Women may not wear high heels in Carmel city limits.

What Are the Penalties?

With how easily broken some of these laws can be, some people may wonder what would happen to them if they did break any of these laws. Luckily, the enforceable laws are pretty unknown by most law enforcement agents. Even if they do know about these laws, no one in their right mind would fault someone for breaking these laws.

The only law on the above list that will result in penalties, and rightfully so, is detonating a nuclear device within Chico city limits. However, the consequences for doing so will probably be more than just a $500 fine. The person will have to pay $501, at least.

These Laws Are Still in the Books

What seems to happen with a lot of these odd laws, is that they just get laughed at and forgotten. No one in this day and age is going to fine someone for wearing cowboy boots when they don’t own a cow, or arrest a woman for wearing high heels. Most of these laws are so outlandish that a person has nothing to worry about. These laws serve only as jokes at this point.


Traffic offenses

What Are Traffic Offenses?

Traffic offenses

Driving is a privilege, not a right, and as such, a driver needs to be responsible behind the wheel. One simple mistake while driving is all it takes to completely change someone’s life forever. If a driver is not careful, they could be pulled over and ticketed for a traffic offense.

Traffic offenses are something that most drivers are familiar with. Even if they have never been pulled over before, a driver still knows about traffic offenses. This broad range of laws covers everything from minor infractions such as making illegal U-turns up to more severe crimes such as Driving under the influence (DUI).

What Are Some Common Traffic Offenses?

Due to the broad range of traffic violations, getting pulled over can always be a bit concerning for drivers. Even the most well-behaved drivers fear the worst when a law enforcement vehicle is driving behind them. Luckily, if a driver is obeying all of the traffic laws, then they have nothing to worry about.

However, if a person has been pulled over, they shouldn’t panic. Most traffic offenses are only infractions. This means that if a person is charged with one of these, they will only face a small fine, around a few hundred dollars, and no possibility of jail time.

A common infraction level offense that driver’s face regularly is speeding. Speeding is made illegal under California Vehicle Code (VC) 22350. Under this law, it is illegal for a person to drive over the posted speed limit for any given road or highway.

Another fairly common infraction is making an illegal U-turn. VC 22102 makes making a U-turn in a business district, any stretch of road where 50% or more of the property along the street is occupied by businesses, illegal unless at an intersection or an opening that provides an opening for the turn.

DUI’s, on the other hand, are often charged as misdemeanors but can be charged as felonies under certain circumstances. A driver is guilty of DUI any time they drive a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. All drugs are considered under this law, including marijuana and even prescription drugs.

What Are the Penalties for These Offenses?

Since traffic offenses can vary so much, the penalties for them can vary as well. They can range from a small fine, all the way up to large fines and jail time. On top of the fines and possible jail time, many offenses add points to a driver’s record, which can raise the cost of the driver’s insurance. If a driver acquires too many points within a certain amount of time, they could have their license suspended. What a person will face depends on what particular offense they were charged with.

For instance, if the person is facing a speeding ticket or a ticket for making an illegal U-turn, they will only face an infraction. This means they will face a small fine.

For speeding, the fines break down as follows:

  • $35 for speeds 1 to 15 mph over the limit but under 100 mph.
  • $70 for speeds 16 to 25 mph over the limit but under 100 mph.
  • $100 for speeds 26 mph over the limit but under 100 mph.
  • $500 and a 30-day license suspension for a first-time offense driving over 100 mph.
  • $750 and a 6-month license suspension for a second offense of driving over 100 mph within 3 years.
  • $1,000 and a 1-year license suspension for a third offense of driving over 100 mph within 5 years.

Each time a person receives a speeding ticket, they will also receive one point on their driver’s record.

When a person is ticketed for making an illegal U-turn, they will face a fine averaging around $230 and a point on their driver’s record.

When DUI is charged as a misdemeanor, such as when it is a person’s first offense, they will face:

  • Up to 6 months in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • Up to 9 months of DUI school.
  • A 4-month driver’s license suspension.

When DUI is charged as a felony, a person will face:

  • 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years in state prison.
  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • Up to 30 months of DUI school.
  • A 5-year driver’s license suspension.

Follow the Rules of the Road

Nobody wants to get a traffic ticket, which is why drivers should follow the rules of the road. As long as they do that, they won’t be ticketed for any traffic offenses, then they will never have to worry about being pulled over.

If a person is getting pulled over, they should cooperate. The worst thing that a driver can do when getting pulled over is run. Running will only make the situation worse.


marijuana laws

Can Marijuana Legally Be Smoked in Public?

marijuana laws

Back in 2016, Californian voters chose to approve the legalization of the recreational use of marijuana. The law went into effect at the start of 2018, and so for the last two years, people have been able to enjoy marijuana. However, even though marijuana usage has been legal for 2 years, there is still a lot of confusion around the law.

Two years isn’t a lot of time in legal terms. Many of the laws that people are familiar with have been around for decades, which is why people are so familiar with them. Since the marijuana laws are so new, the general public hasn’t had enough time to get to know every single detail. This is why some people are still confused

Where Can Marijuana Be Smoked?

One of the biggest questions people still have is where can marijuana legally be smoked and consumed now. Even though the usage of marijuana has been legalized, there are still restrictions on where it can be used. When people aren’t aware of these restrictions, they can find themselves in trouble with the law.

The laws surrounding marijuana usage are practically identical to the laws surrounding alcohol and cigarettes. A person can get a good understanding of when and where marijuana can be consumed by looking at those regulations.

Since smoking cigarettes is banned in most businesses and public areas, smoking marijuana is also banned in those areas. Just like people have a right to not be exposed to secondhand smoke from cigarettes, they also have the right to not be exposed to marijuana.

The usage of marijuana is banned on all government property, especially schools. Employers are permitted to keep their workplaces marijuana free just like they can keep them alcohol-free. They also are legally allowed to test their employees for marijuana.

Marijuana also cannot be consumed while a person is in a car, especially if they are driving. A person cannot consume or have an open container of alcohol in their vehicle, so they cannot do the same with marijuana.

The biggest thing to note about the legalization of the recreational use of marijuana is the recreational part. Primarily, a person is only allowed to consume marijuana in places where they would normally relax, such as their home or backyard.

Penalties for Using Marijuana Where It Is Prohibited

The penalties for misusing marijuana in California can vary greatly depending on where the person consumed marijuana. If a person smokes or consumes marijuana at their job, where it is banned, they may not face legal consequences, but they could be fired.

If a person is caught with marijuana on school grounds, they could be charged with a misdemeanor that comes with:

  • Up to 6 months in jail.
  • A max fine of $250 for a first offense.

Simply having an open container of marijuana in a vehicle can get a person charged with an infraction that comes with a fine of up to $100.

If a person is charged with DUI, then they could face:

  • Up to 6 months in jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • Up to 9 months of DUI school.
  • A 4-month driver’s license suspension.

Be Considerate of Others

It is important to remember that while the recreational use of marijuana has been legalized here in California, it is still illegal at the federal level. This means that even if a person follows all of the rules laid out in the state legislature, they could still be arrested at the federal level. Luckily, this is unlikely to happen unless a person is doing a lot of illegal things with marijuana, or they bring it onto federal property. Some common examples of federal property include airports and federal government buildings.

The recreational use of Marijuana was legalized to allow people who wanted to consume it to do so in ways that don’t bother other people. Most people do not enjoy the smell of marijuana and would prefer to not have to smell it when they are out in public. Then there is the fact that no one wants their kids exposed to marijuana.

If a person is wondering if they can have marijuana in a certain area, such as a public park, they should think about whether cigarettes or alcohol are allowed there. Most parks ban smoking, so that includes marijuana.


We Don’t Need Collateral at Lynwood Bail Bonds

We Don’t Need Collateral at Lynwood Bail Bonds

We Don’t Need Collateral at Lynwood Bail Bonds

 

Paying for expensive things is tough enough on its own without additional stress being piled on. That is exactly what collateral does for buyers, it makes a purchase, or expense, more stressful. Not only does the person have to worry about making payments on time, they have the constant threat of losing something valuable of theirs if they fail to make a payment. Nobody wants that.

Collateral for big expenses, such as bail, have to have the same value as whatever money is owed. When the money owed is several thousands of dollars, the collateral is typically a house or car. Those are both items that people cannot afford to lose because they missed one payment. Unfortunately, many bail bond companies require their clients to post collateral.

At Lynwood Bail Bonds, we know how stressful worrying about collateral can be, which is why we don’t require it on most of our bonds. We prefer to trust our clients. All we need on most bonds is the signature of a working co-signer. As long as we have that, we have faith that our clients will make their payments on time.

On top of that, we at Lynwood Bail Bonds are more understanding with our clients and their payments in general. We know that things changes. Payments that might have been affordable a month ago may no longer be within reach. If that happens, our clients can talk to their bail agent before the payment is due, to see about changing their monthly payments.

  • 24/7 Bail bond service
  • 20% Discount
  • Phone approvals
  • 0% Interest payment plans
  • No hidden fees
  • No collateral with working signer
  • Se habla Español

Dealing with the arrest of a loved one can be a stressful time. At Lynwood Bail Bonds, we want to reduce that stress as much as possible. That is why we don’t ask for collateral on most of our bonds and why we are flexible with our clients’ payments. We care about our clients and do everything that we can to help them.

Want to get a bail bond without having to pledge collateral? Then contact the professionals by calling (323)357-0575 or clicking Chat With Us now.